Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

the University of Essex

Well as most people I am sure will know, I am now at University and after only 4 days I am back on the internet and writing blogs, its just like I never left really. So far I have had some ups, some downs and some quite bizzare things happening.

 

I got to Uni at about 3ish on Sunday 1st October and I didnt really do much, I unpacked met a few people but decided not to go out first night, which yes I know is a bad idea but I ws tired and had a massive headache and thus couldnt be bothered to go out. Luckily my flat mates all appear to be friendly and so I got to know them properly on day 2.

The main characters on my floor are Jason, a very talkative lad who gets along with everyone and is a good laugh, Ben the guy who I assumed on first sight was a big emo because of his hair and shoes with skeletons on but it turns out his favourite band are the levellers (for those who dont know they were a brit-pop band who were around in the late 90s) he proudly states that he has seen them 21 times. There is Nicole who is quite an attractive young lady who i think might be a year older than me but she is quit posh sounding. Then there is Mike who is a normal lad who for some strange reason is doing maths. Others include Qandeel, Shaun and Sem. I cant remember the names of the others but there is 16 of us in total. There are a couple of other people from other floors who are quite cool aswell but I can't be arsed to name them.

 

So onto my first night out, originally it was radio 1 DJ Sarah Cox on the bill but she cancelled which at first was dissapointing but then when we found out the replacement act I was pleased. It was the Venga Boys, the campest act of the 90s and they were awesome. They played the classics, venga bus, going to ibiza and boom boom boom. But not sex on the beach which leads me to think they didnt actually sing it. The rest of the night was a DJ playing all sorts from cheese to indie to (unfortunately) R&B and then the fire alarm went off at quater to 3 and so we went back to the flat where we chatted until 4ish. (I forgot to mention before the fire alarm going of on the 1st night at 2:30am leading me to standing on the tower forecourts in my pyjamas and bare feet.)

Night 2 saw what I thought would be a quieter night, we went upstairs to flat 11 where we started a drinking game which involved taking a card from a pack and each card had a different meaning of which most involved someone having to take a drink. So naturally I got quite sozzled playing that and this drunkeness led to my personal highlight of the evening, me singing to a girl from Leeds. She had a yorkshire accent so i of course tried to mimic it but she wasnt impressed so I sang in my finest Arctic monkeys voice which she did admit was good but on the couple of occasions ive seen her since she has remembered to bring it up. We stayed on the floor till about 5 listening to Americans talking about America then went to bed.

night 3 saw a similar night although before any drinking commencedwe played a game known as ultimate spoons which involved a card game which had a rummy-esqe feel and basically the 1st person to get 4 of a kind would know to start running and find a spoon which had been hidden somewhere in the tower. There was one less spoon then people playing and although that is a poor explanation it is a great game. The drinking games started in my flat and then we moved down to flat 4 where we heard the party was at. At first it was a bit boring but it evolved into quite a good time and included a girl singing along with a guy playing the guitar. It was really good, the girl had an amazing voice and later told us that she had actually recorded a couple of tracks professionally. That party ended quite early (by this it must have been 2:30ish), so our flat all wen looking for another party all over the campus and we found nothing and so went back to good old flat 11 where we were the night before and chatted until 4ish.

 

Tonight im going to see a band called hell is for heroes and so I shall leave you their, Tarrah

Comments

  • You write in your blog for me. I know you do. You know you do.

    Whats you doing in uni? Other than seemingly endless party? Hmmm?

The comments are closed.