Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Milburn

Ok this blog is a little late because it has just been too hot of late to contemplate doing anything, even a task as simple as writing a blog. But now it is here and I am sure you will all be rejoicing in the fact.

 

So this blog is about me and a few others going to see the wonder that was milburn playing a gig in the electric ballroom in Camden.

It started by the 3 lads, me, Dave and Tate going up to camden by tube to find a little establishment to have a quick little drinky before we started. The plan was to meet the lovely ladies, Phoebe and Rosie but NOO they had to be complicated (and not for the last time on that evening) and not turn up. It was ok though we didnt need them we met John, the loveable drunk Irishman. He was brilliant, he told us how he had never fought anyone and yet had thrown people out of windows for invading his space. At one point we thought he was going to hit an old man who was looking at him funny. And when he asked Dave to buy him a drink we didnt think we should argue. So we quickly finished off our pints there, said our goodbyes to John who I now miss terribly and left up the road to get in line.

 

When in line for the gig the girls FINALLY made it, then we waited a while and I saw a guy who I remembered seeing at the Essex university open day - yes the time in the queue was very exciting. Then we went in. 1st stop was of course the toilet as I had been dying to go since we left the pub, I didnt want to stay there any longer than necessary.

Then drinks which were rather pricey and of course as at all the finest establishments they were in plastic cups. So we had a couple of those met up with the John that we actually knew had another drink and then went to the floor to hear the first warm up band. Now they were called Kharma 45 and their guitarist was called Pete Doherty, unfortunately that is just about all they had going for them. They were dull, thee girls seemed to like them, I dunno maybe one of the members was devilishly good looking or something but anyway I was glad when that was over.

Me and John initially went to the bar by ourselves and i watched him down a pint which was quite impressive and then we got some more drinks. By this time the others had come back to the bar area to join us. And all of us lads were happily drinking away when I noticed that the girls weren't drinking. Being the gentleman that I am I offered to get them one, but they said no. I knew that this was due to politeness rather than not actually wanting one and so I asked again and again but I was greeted with mystic riddles. 'we wont say yes but if drinks were to appear in front of us we would probably drink them'. This would be bad enough if I hadnt already had a little drop of alcohol inside me so at this point I was getting a tad confused. I ended up getting drinks for them and by the time I got round to it everyone else was finished so I ended up buying a whole round. And If I am not mistaken they drank them. During this whole fiasco the second warm up band was going on and they were even worse than the 1st. They were called Cute is what we aim for.. what a terrible name and matched with terrible songs.

And finally Milburn came onto the stage and so we all rushed up as close as we could get. A barrier of people stopped us from getting any closer but I wasnt having that, so I pushed my way to the front before realising no one was following me. Oh well I was there being pushed and shoved around like nobodys business but it wasnt as violent as what I hear from Leanders experiences so I was still living by the end. The set was great, I heard a lot of my old favourites along with quite a selection that I had never heard before. By the end of the set though I was regretting being at the front amongst the pushing and shoving. Although it was fun and did help people including good old John (not irish drunk) to crowd surf. But the downside was the horrible amount of sweatyness I was covered in by the end of which a lot wasnt my own. It had turned out that the girls had left before the end, probably for the best that they didnt see me in that state. Us four lads though remained there 'till the end, 3 of us bought t-shirts and then trotted off back to the station. John dissapeared down the escalator never to be seen again and the rest of us sat down and tubed it all the way home.

 

End

Comments

  • happens to me all the time :D

    "But the downside was the horrible amount of sweatyness I was covered in by the end of which a lot wasnt my own. "

  • MUHAHAHA 200th comment! I rock.
    Aww, I am one of the lovely ladies. I am flattered. You didn't mention how we had to decline because you are not an arsehole, I think that should of been mentioned.

    Pass me a book and I'll read you a sonnet. :D

  • My 'experiences' in mosh pits are way more fun than boring indie gigs even if they do result in somewhat severe aches and pain. lol

  • People! are! scary! thankfully! I! am! an! it!

    People in general that is...most people I associate with are actually extremely lovable.

    *hugs from a freak who cant make up her mind*

  • wierd thigs I've just noticed

    -photo album bands remastered has disappeared.
    -photo album "Things aboot moi" lost its "s"
    -you added a picture to "Thing aboot moi"
    -you updated your profile
    -you edited the Sports Relief Mile post
    -you have a sister, I feel sorry for you but maybe its only my sibling who causes this much pain. you have a brother too but I knew that.

  • somethings wrong with me.

    I cant see more than two metres from my face.

    I am crying for no reason and i di not feel in any6way sad now

    Kristian said Im drunk, but one glass of orange juice topped up with vodka will NOK make me drunk.

    iam very cold

    i thijnk i need ot sleep.

    but i just wokem up 2 houirs ago 'cause I fell asleep in the afternoon/evening-time-ish.

    what th fucke i s worng with me?

The comments are closed.