Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

U-Turn

Not a manouver that I have been practicising whilst driving, but now that you ask the lessons are going very well thankyou, my lovely kossovan instructor called Nigel says I am making good progress and I have done all sorts of pointless acts of road hogging such as parallel parking in huge gaping holes and reversing round corners. But my progress is unlikely to continue at such a rate due to the reason I am actually writing this blog.

 

I have completely changed my mind on my decision to take a gap year. I will admit now that my thinking for taking a gap year was largely due to the knowledge that I had infact messed up all my exams but I did have a list of fairly valid reasons for taking a year off. But since the mad decision for the university to offer me the place despite my clearly quite poor grades I have had to think quite hard about my decision.

Before I made my decision I went through the process of looking for a job, this started with going to the local branch of Connexions to ask their advice - they told me to either go to uni or get a decent job which would give me some valuable experience. So from that I went to a job agency thing who said that they could get me a job working for the home office out in Kingston but that the security clearing would take 2 or 3 months. SO I would get experience but the amount of cash I would raise would be limited, travelling to and from croydon would mean that my time would be nearly all taken up by the job and so realistically my other activities such as learning the guitar would have suffered.

So now I am going to University, I have sorted out applying for my loan (about 3 months late) and my accomodation which should be sorted properly by the time I get to Uni in early October. Am I ready?.. no, not in the slightest - I have no experience of living away from home, of catering for myself, of washing my own things of budgeting properly. I am not afraid to say my mum did all of this for me and thus the prospect of doing it all for myself is a bit daunting.

On the other hand I am quite excited about it all, getting pissed with new people, living on my own.. All will be a great experience for me. Oh and Dr. Karl Kennedy (Neighbours) is scheduled to come to perform sometime in mid November which is amazing, I am looking forward to that one.

 

On that note I end this blog, tarrah

Comments

  • Uni. Good for you. I have absolutely no clue on what I plan to do next week so I am truly unprepared for anything.

The comments are closed.