Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Larrikin Love

This blog is unsurprisingly going to be about the events of the gig and those before and after, how very exciting it must be for all of you who are sitting at home and waiting to read this.

 

I woke up nice and late, about 12ish I think it was after the late night the day before, amongst other things I wrote a blog and managed to not tell my mum that I had told my good friend Laura that she could stay the night. So when at 5 o'clock I came in the door and introduced her to my mum she was a little bit shocked and then embarrased when I said she was going to stay the night as the house was such a mess. And of course I still hadnt tidyed my room which I have been saying I will do for God knows how long now and so she couldn't sleep there so whilst we were out mum did a lightning clean of the house including my brothers old room where Laura eventually slept.

The first stop was the pub in Wimbledon where we were to meet everyone although that didnt go quite to plan, as Rosie and Phoebe thought we were meeting at the station before going to the pub and Matt didnt come to the pub at all but it was all sorted out pretty sharpish and me and Dave had nice pub meals and Laura bloody nicked halh my chips.

We then walked down to South Wimbledon Tube station and got the train up to Kings Cross, I had told Dave it was only a half hour long journey which was one of the draws which made him come but of course it was much longer than that, closer to an hour in fact but soon enough we were there and scala was literally 20 meters down the road. We all went in and went for a drink which to be honest maybe a tad overpriced.. I didnt actually think to ask how much my beer was but we worked out that a vodka and orange cost £3.70, disgusting.

 

But anyway we moved in and waited for the warm up act to come on, after a little while Rosie and Phoebe left us saying they were going to look for somewhere to sit.. and that was the last we saw of them the whole night, we tried to reunite at one point but then gave up. And Phoebe managed to get out with out paying me for the ticket.. shes a sneaky one that girl but I will get my money.

The warm up act were called Alterkicks who I had actually heard of previously which was a first for me and they were pretty good, nothing special in my opinion but nevertheless a good solid start to the evenings music although they did go on a bit.

By the time Larrikin Love came on me and Laura had moved up towards the front leaving Dave, Matt and Blondie behind. They played a very good set, a lot of ones I had heard and a couple which I hadnt. They ended on one of their lesser known songs which was a ploy that confused me but it became apparent what was happening when no one moved after the set had appeared to be finished.. they were waiting for the encore and this time they ended with a song called Calypso which is pretty much what it says on the tin. A lively, party tune and thus a brilliant one to end on.

After they had finished we all moved outside and waited for Rosie and Phoebe but it turned out that they had already gone, so we went home on the Thameslink train which was quite quick. Laura who had a little to drink was shouting abuse at me despite me being nothing but a gentleman all night to her, no manners at all. We got off at Wimbledon, Dave gave me, Laura and Matt lifts home and then I went to bed.

 

Earlyish (about 11) this morning Laura left for Nottingham and that was that adventure over. END

 

oh and P.S. me and blondie didnt get the night bus home as was stated in the last blog, unfortunately the game was given away that we had actually walked all the way home from Kingston in a journey that took for me  about three hours including a small detour (not getting lost a detour)

Comments

  • Six Queens is quite a nice song. Its got his Arabic-like influence.

    Im looking up all your music. Much of it I like.

    I crave chips. really fat chips. and gravy. fat chips with gravy.

    Were you trying to hide that you didn't take the bus? I try to hide it when I take a cab home from school. Detours are fun. I went into this abandoned house and found an unopened bottle of coke. It was boiling, so I took it home and put it in the fridge and never saw it again. "They" broke the house down a while ago. so sad.

  • This laura seems a lot like me personality wise...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Ciao!

  • WOOO! SOMEONE WHO'S NOT ME!

The comments are closed.