Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Christmas Week

Maybe starting the blog again was not the best of ideas, after only a few posts I am back in the habbit of not writing up about events as soon as they happen and thus this blog is going to be long and will cover the events of friday, saturday and Christmas day.. with a little forward look at the end. So that's warning you before you start reading and get bored. Maybe I should do seperate headings so that people can hone in on the exact bit they want to read. I think I will.

 

Friday

On friday I went first into Wimbledon to do some Christmas shopping, as you do a couple of days before the big day and I bought my sister a lovely little art set along with some completely useless no smoking stickers (one of the few advantages of writing a late blog I can write about the presents without fear of the surprise being ruined). I then met up with Phoebe and we went on to take a bus into sheen where I was to see where she was now living. The street leading up to her house looked well dodgy but the house itself was nice enough, looked very studenty, more so even than my house up in Essex, locks on all the bedroom doors, random posters all over the walls, a stolen street sign in the bathroom and what appeared to be blankets hanging over the windows instead of curtains. Her room though was quite large - at this point we had varied discussions with vegetarianism possibly the most in depth, and also consuming small amounts of alcohol. Soon enough it was late and we had decided to meet up with John.. well that was the plan until Phoebe decided to fall asleep, says a lot for my company, so I left and went to meet John - getting on the bus i was greeted with a lack of money on my oyster card so I had to get off again.. boo. SO I decided to walk, bad plan.. it was long and cold.. after much complaining John came and picked me up.

We first went to a pub called the Cocoanut, which was very odd, dark and dingy but we stayed and had a couple of beers, whilst John conversed with the locals who were having a party. In the early stages it was ok, 3 of them, 2 of us and there was a nice little conversation. But when the rest of the party folk turned up it was soon quite clear that we were not wanted there, the epitomy of which was John being called an obvious paedophile who should go away.. strangely enough John didn't think this a bad thing and still wanted to stay but I convinced him we should leave. We then went to another pub called the Cricketers which was a much nicer pub in my opinion, again we had a couple of pints but we realised that this was never going to be a big party night so we decided to call it a night at that point.. very dissapointing. Luckily Saturday was to be much more enjoyable.

 

Saturday

Saturday night was to be the second reunion, as Matt Bond was back, back from Surrey. I brought my good friend Ross along too and it was to be a great night. We headed down to berties bar. Again I had been drinking before I had left the house but not as much as the last time but still I feel I had a bit of a head start. There were very few seats in Berties so we all had to stand at first and proceeded to poach chairs and tables where we could. Eventually we all managed to sit down  together, by which time we had had a number of pints and also a few shots. The general conversations took part and then the idea of going out clubbing floated into the air.. although tempting, we decided time and money matters meant that it was probably not for us, so all apart from Dom stayed. Unfortunately for him, it was soon after that that we chose to interrogate Matt about his new girlfriend. Despite the genius plans to almost make him cry though tough interrogationI feel we were generally quite nice about it. Obviously the odd obsenity thrown in by Tate but you really expect nothing less. The only exciting thing really was that we decided on a date for the wedding which will be heald on Saturday 7th September 2008 according to my phone which in a slightly drunken manner I added it into. It is unknown yet who will get the best man job, he was talking about his brother but I think really it will be me. We drank more, even playing a drinking game which lasted not very long at all before being told it was time to leave and so we did.

This though was not to be the end of the night oh no, as you do when slightly intoxicated, you look for a way to extend the night and so we went on towards O'Neils - as I have said previously a good place to end a night. Me, Ross, Dan and Tate walked in no problems but Dave and Matt weren't allowed in. We toyed with the idea of being gentlemanly and using a sense of commaradery and leaving when our friends didn't get in. BUT we were drunk so we stayed. Sorry Guys. But anyway we started drinking some more.. again beers and shots and before you knew it we were all sitting in our corner singing and swaying to the folk band who were playing on the stage. It was a beautiful scene as I am sure you can imagine. Whilst in the pub we also met up with Dan's sister Laura, who was looking lovely as ever, obviously we made a few jokes about her after that and then of course it moved onto my sister and Tate's sister as is usually the way. Ross luckily gets away with that, due to people not knowing him as well. But soon enough it was time to leave there too and so we walked out, chatting to a few old faces on the way. Wimbledon pubs are always a good place for seeing old chums. We stood outside for a bit, Tate then walked off without saying goodbye with a guy that we could only assume was his brother and then we all went home. On the way me and Ross had a deep political discussion which was very interesting but very alcohol fueled. And so that was Saturday.

 

Christmas Day

Not really any more exciting than any other Christmas day but I thought, why not give it a blog anyway. I woke up early at around 9ish ate some breakfast and then got to opening my presents highlights of which included a few CDs, DVDs and some lovely items of clothing.. time passed. We had a very tasty Christmas dinner prepared by my mother which I ate far too much of and felt incredibly sick and then despite this I ate two servings of ice cream to follow it up. Luckily I wasn't sick but I was feeling incredibly tired at this point and fell asleep for a couple of hours. Then the annual board games came out, which is always a laugh and before we knew it, it was 1 o'clock. I went up to bed, watched one of my new DVDs and then fell asleep.

Sorry that last bit is a bit slap-dash but I am getting bored of writing. On Friday I shall be going to see Kid Harpoon at KOKO and I'm sure a blog/review will coincide with that and then I shall be doing a bout of travelling, first to Essex for New Years and then up to Newcastle from the 3rd to 7th of January. See you all soon

END

The comments are closed.