Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

How to party like a millionaire

Yes, I move in high circles and so I get to go to a number of great occasions such as this the bi-yearly party of Lord Wahid Ali (the man who created big breakfast and is thus a millionaire). With the title of Lord though you might think that he would be a boring old snob but no he is a fun loving type and thus throws one hell of a party.

 

The day starts with an annoyingly long 2 and a half hour long coach trip down to the massive house in hastings or at least somewhere near there. This was ok though due to having lovely music playing in my ear the whole time.

We got there a bit early really, nothing had started so the first half hour or so entailed me searching around the massive grounds of the estate, I could tell you what I saw at this point but I want to leave it for a surprise later. Anyway by the time I got back to where I started from the food was beginning to be served and what a selection there was. Either the hot dog/burger option or the posh looking salads and stuff of course being me i had one helping of each before moving onto the legendary chocolate fountain. This is a fountain which flows running ,elted chocolate which you can dip marshmallows and other such treats into, its amazing over the course of the night I visited its bounty a good three or four times.

Now onto the main event of the evening.. the fair ground rides. Yes he rents fair ground rides for his party, there are bumper cars, a merry-go-round, a big wheel, a helter skelter and a big inflatable slide. Me being such a big man I of course went straight for the bumber cars, of couse these rides are all free to go on and have small queues. I must add here that I had already by this point had 2 bottles of lager and so was on the limit of drink driving which in bumper cars is great fun but not to be recommended with real cars. I did over the course of the night sample all of the rides apart from the giant inflatable slide which got punctured quite early and so died.

Then I went back to the first field, got a few more drinks and then started dancing to the live music which happened to be a band called 'simply 80s' and so unsurprisingly they sang a load of 80s covers which was quite fun but could have been better cos i mean if its all 80s where is the macarena..? its non existent and thus its hardly a party.

Throughout tje evening this was the pattern, moving from long stints on the bumper cars, where I steadily became more violent as more alcohol got into my body and unfortunately I am paying for that today due to the huge bruises all over my body and pain in my neck but it was worth it, and then back to the dance floor over the other side. Occasionally stopping off and talking to people. I had a long conversation with a guy called paul who I havnt seen in years and we exchanged drink stories and him having had a year at uni already beat me easily, there were some really quite impressive stories but most too grotesque to put on here.

Now the toilets, you wouldnt think would be one of the highlights but they were amazing. They were hired toilets, portaloos if you will, but no ordinary ones, they were luxury. They had lovely carpets, wallpaper, pictures on the wall, flushing toilets, air freshener it was easily better then most pub toilets ive been in, more like a house toilet, very impressive it was. There I shall end the night because there wasnt much else.

 

We got back on the coach at about 1:30-2 and proceeded to have a drunk sing a long session for an hour, it was beautiful. All the classics merged into one drunken mush. Despite it all being good, if I were to pick out a few highlights they must be kharma chameleon which was very fast and descended into anarchy and ofcourse bohemian rhapsody with its high notes and complicated rythms it was a complete shambles and hence hilarious. We got home withing 2 hours due to there being no traffic on the roads at such an ungodly hour and went straight to bed.

 

END

Comments

  • You know why I like you so much? We have a shared love for food and chocolate. And bumper-cars.

    Once I slammed into this girl I didn't know in Action Zone (If you ever come to Abu Dhabi, that place is absolute shit except for the bumper cars.) and she wasn't wearing her "seat belt" and she flew half out of the car, and started bleeding. I left the "bumper area" as soon as I could. I later heard that she was from a rich local oil owning family (then what on earth are you doing in Action Zone, eh? Can't you just go to Dubai and the big posh places there?) and they were looking for the boy who slammed her.

    Boy. I DO NOT LOOK LIKE A BOY. The last time I looked like a boy was when I was 5. I had one of those self-done hair cuts. (And there are NO boys with shoulder-length hair or longer here. If there are any, they've formed a clan and gone "underground".)

    So anyway, they were looking for a boy but who knows, the girl might've recognised me and so I convinced all the people I was with to play the most expensive game (and so finish all the money in those little plastic cards you get) and leave. It was January-ish and it does get a bit cold here (A BIT! but winds bite) so I had the hoody (how I love the hoody) and I put the hood up and hid my head in the beautiful velvet lined interior of... the hood.

    None of the people I was with suspected it was me.

    Giant inflatable plastic things are tres fun. How'd it get punctured? Usually they all let out air around the seams and stuff, and there's a pump in the back to keep the pressure even. A puncture would have to be a hole at least 6 inches in diametre to make one collapse and as you say, die.

    I once went on one that was 50 metres high, and had an almost vertical drop. Almost. I went on my belly and couldn't stop and went SMACK! into a pile of shoes. I am smart. Very smart indeed.

    I've been leaving very long comments since of late. I'm worried. I'm not sure about what and how but it involves my mother being in sugery and me not knowing what for.

    mehemehemehemehemeh eh eh eh eh eh

    grrrrr...

The comments are closed.