Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

One Year On, Is This A Comeback?

This will be the 100th blog that I have ever written on this here website and what better number is there to start a possible comeback? No that's right there probably isn't one really, so lets head on into the blog.

 

I flirted with the idea of a comeback over the summer when writing a blog/review of the electric gardens festival but that was just a one off in the greater scheme of things and who knows this one quite possibly could follow in the same vein.

So what have I been up to in the last year I hear you ask, well if I was to even start thinking about all the many blogging opportunities that I have missed. I drunk some more alcohol, I passed my first year of university, started renting a house between me and 5 of my friends at uni, I drunk some more and now I find myself here at stupid o'clock in the morning writing a blog rather than sleeping.

 

My new house is off campus in the small village of Wivenhoe, I live with Ben and Qandeel who I used to live with last year and Dan, Steph and Rossen who I didn't but I do believe there is at least a brief mention of all of them at some point in previous blogs. Coming to the end of the first term here in this house there have yet to be any real problems with the living conditions and everyone appears to be getting on fine. There have been rumours of people wanting to move out at the end of the year from both Rossen and Qandeel but neither have really come into a deffinite decision as of yet.

The only real problem that I am having is the work, yes I know the whole point of university is that you are meant to work so you can get a degree and then live your life happily ever after with lots of money. My problem isn't that I don't think there should be any work, it is that i STILL don't have the enthusiasm to do anything despite the extortionate amounts of money that I am paying to get this education. I foolishly believed on getting to university as a fresher that I would do more work than I did at A-Level, that didn't materialise and I put it down to the first year being worthless and so yet again I came into 2nd year thinking I would do more work but no I havn't. I rarely turn up to lectures or seminars, I don't do the readings that I am suposed to do and I am still rushing off my essays the night before they are due in. I have actually got to the stage of wondering why I am actually at university at all...

don't get me wrong, the university experience has been great, the living without my parents and having to do things for myself has been a great learning curve in life experience and I have met some of the coolest people that I am ever likely to meet but unfortunately that won't get me a degree at the end of the course. I really do fear that at the end of the course or possibly even by the end of this year, I will have come to the conclusion that I have just wasted an awful lot of my money and got not all that much potential to earn back.

 

This blog unfortunately will not be one of my happy-go-lucky blogs about how I have enjoyed a night out or something along those lines, it is just going to be a long rant about the problems of university living, although this next bit is a c6593ad51f17f45237d9ce33980db047.jpglittle less, oh shit i'm wasting my life and more - silly fat bastard, stop drinking.

The picture on the left is a before and after shot of me. The one on the right was me just a couple of weeks after joining university in October 2006, the picture on the left is me in November this year (2007) and I'm pretty sure I am not just seeing things when I say that in the one on the left I look a lot fatter. I know it is a bigger picture and all but I deffinitely have a more defined face in the picture on the right.

The problem with this though is that although I have identified the problem and know how to change it, namely doing more exercise, eating less crappy food and especially drinking less beer. I don't find myself wanting to change my ways enough to stop this process happening. It is very similar to my problems with essays and with most of the problems i face in my life, I fail to do things that I don't particularly want to do in the short term to benefit me in the long term. I know I should but I just don't. This is why I am poor, fat and am likely to get a poorer grade than possible, if not fail my degree.

 

and on that optimistic note I shall leave you, will I write another blog in the near future or will it be another year before I go again, that is something that only the sands of time will determine.

Ta Ta for Now, Ant

END

 

The comments are closed.